RankRanker (Rank Ranker “Free SEO System and Link Exchange With Extra Earning”) SPAM
I’ve gotten two emails from a certain “RankRanker@gmail.com” (aka “webmaster@RankRanker.com”) trying to sell me their “Free SEO System and Link Exchange With Extra Earning”. While spam email pitches for terribly named, grammar-rule-flaunting, “get rich quick” systems (NEW: Now With An SEO Twist!) are high on my priority list of things to pay attention to, that I’m going to have to politely decline the offer. I’m so busy considering SEO pitches from Traffic Power, Network Solutions, and Vijayinfo.in that I have no time to consider an additional SEO system — even if it does come “with extra earning!”
However, I’d like to commend them for writing me these excellent, highly professional emails. They’re clearly way ahead of the rest of the industry’s best practices for email and have no need to pay attention to other SEOs’ inferior ideas. Besides which, SEO is about the individual’s power, not about the network. So more power to you for writing such great email pitches for your SEO system, RankRanker!
|
||||
![]() |
||||
|
||||
|
||||
|
||||
Also, I’m highly appreciative of their persistence, which they demonstrated by resending me the same email which I ignored the first time. This clearly shows a marked determination to help me improve my email’s spam filters - thanks guys!
Cold-calling is a tried and true sales tactic. It may not be as effective as search marketing, because it’s classical interruption marketing as opposed to permission marketing, but it still exists today because it does work. For it work, however, you need to understand that it’s a volume game. Some tiny percentage will convert. And much as I hate spam, I recognize that even some spam emails do convert.
I’ve got to wonder though: if you’re going to use spam, why would you try it on someone who’s going to out you? And why annoy someone who’ll give you reputation management issues (like 1 and 1’s issues)? Silly RankRanker (aka Rank Ranker aka webmaster@rankranker.com). What do you guys think about unpersonalized spam emails like this? Any experiences to share? Funny stories? Others who’ve gotten stuff from RankRanker@gmail.com?
(P.S.: If you link here, please use “RankRanker” “Rank Ranker” “RankRanker.com” and related anchor text. On a related note: go find out why Web Hosting Geeks suck. Also, do see 20 steps on Web Search PR - those “clueless numpties.”)
Subscribe to SEO ROI's RSS Feed
Curious why you should subscribe? Here's 20 reasons why. br> On a related note, if you need SEO services, here's where to get more information.


Hi Webmaster!
Oh this is funny on sooooo many levels.
My favorite:
“You can make your site as useful as yours seems to be.”
Wonderful, that’s exactly the results I have been searching for yet have hitherto failed to achieve.
Comment by Linda Bustos — January 20, 2008 @ 8:17 pm
It is pretty good, I have to say. Gotta love that quality outsourced SEO ;).
Comment by Gab — January 20, 2008 @ 10:11 pm
Lol
An enjoyable writing style, Gab, you should stick to it
As for spam, oh, I receive tons of it daily (considering I have about 30 email accounts that I manage from Outlook) and I stopped paying attention to it long ago…
Comment by Ann Smarty — January 21, 2008 @ 6:59 am
Glad you liked it Ann :)! It’s funny, I just checked my email and I’ve got another one from these buggers! Please do link here with some rankranker anchor text so we can nail these buggers!
Comment by Gabriel Goldenberg — January 21, 2008 @ 12:21 pm
You’ve got to hand it to their copywriter. He’s got a real way with words…
Comment by Mike - Twenty Steps — January 29, 2008 @ 6:32 am
He’s got the Oxford mind trust staring in awe.
Comment by Gabriel Goldenberg — January 29, 2008 @ 12:47 pm
Give the copywriter a break! his last job was composing emails for winners of the Nigerian International Lottery!
Comment by DarkMatter — January 29, 2008 @ 4:38 pm
Heya Dark,
He’s named Edith Kouame? She’s my favourite purveyor of winning Nigerian lottery tickets, West African inheritances etc.
BTW, did you come through the Twenty Steps link?
Comment by Gabriel Goldenberg — January 30, 2008 @ 2:16 am