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Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

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2 Case Studies On Reversing Negative Reviews

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet This is a guest post by Liz Krause, who writes for EtherSpeak, a company specializing in Unified Communications for internet phone service. They are a SIP trunk provider and also offer internet encryption for business class VOIP. For anyone who has ever owned a small business, the adage, “the only bad press is no… Continue reading

Web Design Signal vs Noise

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet Do CSS galleries actually show the right way forward for web design? Via a fascinating post on whitespace and visual hierarchy at Usability Post, I also discovered the UX part of Stack Exchange, one of the web’s biggest Q&A sites. It’s got loads of intermediate-advanced questions and is well worth a visit for people… Continue reading

Are You Buying Skewed Panel Data?

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet In yet another fascinating case study, Mr Green’s blog shares a mobile marketing campaign aimed at recruiting panel members for a demographic research service. What’s fascinating is the bit about optimizing the campaign by device, carrier etc. Some phone models convert better than others, and not always for reasons of usability. Shoemoney years ago… Continue reading

Brilliant New Followup Features At MyBlogGuest

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet I just logged in to my friend Ann Smarty’s My Blog Guest forum for finding guest posts and was treated to a delightful surprise: two genius new features for improving your followup. Under a message box, within the private message area, are two checkboxes that read as follows: Notify me if the recipient does… Continue reading

Daily Deals Don’t Deliver – Yet

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet Excellent criticism of daily deals on TechCrunch http://techcrunch.com/2011/06/03/why-daily-deals-raw-deal/ The question is – how do local companies go about following up to make these deal seekers become repeat buyers? The startup that solves that problem will be bought for 9 figures asap by Groupon. Some leads to follow: http://www.blacksburgbelle.com/2011/04/3-tips-to-turn-first-time-customers-into-repeat-customers/ http://www.usatoday.com/money/smallbusiness/columnist/abrams/2003-09-12-abrams_x.htm http://www.startupnation.com/business-articles/9437/1/repeat-customers-raving-fans.htm http://blog.garrettspecialties.com/2009/09/uncategorized/turn-one-time-customers-into-repeat-customers/ On a related… Continue reading

Dealing With Panda? Try A Readability Tool

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet If you’ve read about Panda, you’ll know that the quality of your writing and editing is a key notion targeted by Google’s update. So why not try a tool that will evaluate your readability? This is in a similar vein to Brian Patterson’s recent post suggesting a grammar checker, but the tool I just… Continue reading

Paypal’s Exchange Rates Are Aweful – Important FYI For International Marketers

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet I put $2000 US into a paypal account of mine, and Paypal is listing that as being worth 6653.79 Israel New Shekels (ILS). That’s an exchange rate of 1 USD for 3.32689 ILS. (6653.79 / 2000 = 3.32689) According to XE.com, the exchange rate between the two currencies is 3.42120 . That’s a full… Continue reading

Excellent Parody… But Perhaps Useful For Internet Marketers

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet Read this brilliant comic by XKCD, parodying a popular field of internet marketing… It’s funny because it’s an observation about reality which is absurd… and yet, I wonder if this is worth testing as an internet marketer… Tweet

Review of PPC Search Engine Marketing An Hour A Day

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet David Szetela has long been one of the PPC experts I most admire, not least of which for his informative presentations at SMX – typically on the Google Display Network (GDN), his specialty. He wrote a book for Wiley/Sybex’s online marketing An Hour A Day series, Pay-Per-Click Search Engine Marketing An Hour A Day,… Continue reading

3 Cheap Tools to Attack the Panda Update Head-On

Author: Brian Patterson

Tweet This is a guest post by Brian Patterson, a partner at SEO consulting firm MangoCo. The Google Panda Update hit many webmasters like a freight train, leaving a long line of quality websites as collateral damage.  While the Panda update did have the noble cause of weakening the grip that content farms had on the SERPs, many… Continue reading

Don’t Put A News Feed On The Homepage

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet Why not put a news feed of your company’s latest press releases on the homepage? Because 99 times out of 100, you won’t have news to share on a sufficiently regular basis to make the use of space effective and worthwhile. The net result is that you look silly, when, halfway through 2011, your… Continue reading

BuzzStream Does It Again

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet It seems whenever BuzzStream send out an email with new product features for their link building CRM software, I’m highly impressed with the value they’ve added to their product. It’s a great competitive differentiation they’re building, and in my eyes, highly worth it for any link builder regularly building links manually. Some of their… Continue reading

Where Do I Take My Business Next?

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet With my book set to come out hopefully in the next few weeks, I’m on the fence as to where I want to go next career-wise. I’d love to hear your advice and suggestions. As things stand, my situation looks like this: 1) I have 5 years experience in SEO, with some PPC thrown… Continue reading

Blogroll finally posted

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet Want to know what I read? Here’s a partial blogroll, focused mostly on local SEO, advanced SEO, conversion, and friends. I’ve also long linked out to a variety of other sites in my blogroll posts category. If I’ve overlooked you, and you should be on there, leave a comment. I’ll most likely add you… Continue reading

Condoms For Panda: Noindex Low Value Pages Despite Inbound Links?

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet I recently came across what is to me a new SEO problem. A site I consult with has some thin pages with a handful of ads at the top, some relevant local content sourced from a third party beneath that… and a bunch of inbound links to said pages. Not just any links, but… Continue reading

Google Talks Mobile, Local and CPA At Goldman Sachs Con

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet http://cc.talkpoint.com/gold006/021511a_mg/?entity=61_BX7P6Y2 Here are my notes on the interesting points in Google’s presentation to Goldman Sachs’ Tech and Internet Conference. It’s noteworthy not just for seeing the trends in where they’re going, but for the principles that govern their thinking and the way they want to be perceived. 1) Google saw Japanese users paying relatively… Continue reading

How SEOmoz’s Open Site Explorer Prioritizes Links

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet While emailing with Aaron Wheeler about SEOmoz‘s Link Intersect, Aagon gave me the following insight into how they crawl the web and prioritize their choices of links. It’s pretty fascinating from a tech perspective… Hey Gab! Thanks for writing in and sorry that you weren’t able to find that directory in the Competitive Link… Continue reading

News: 1/3 Of AdWords Dollars Are Spent On AdSense!

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet http://investor.google.com/earnings/2011/Q1_google_earnings.html “Google Network Revenues – Google’s partner sites generated revenues, through AdSense programs, of $2.43 billion, or 28% of total revenues, in the first quarter of 2011. This represents a 19% increase from first quarter 2010 network revenues of $2.04 billion. ” What’s interesting to note is that roughly 70% of that goes to… Continue reading

Check Links For Viruses & Build Links Faster!

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet Fellow Canadian SEO, Melanie Nathan, recently wrote an interesting guest post for Search Engine People on the reciprocity approach to link building. This method is the traditional approach of pointing out 404s, links going to malware-infected sites and so on. Melanie mentioned in passing that links to sites with drive-by-downloads of malware were some… Continue reading

Mobile Usability Case Study and Conversion Rate Optimization

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet This is a guest post by Stephen Croome of buyaniPad.com; his bio is below. A baseline for mobile growth Real numbers and our plan going forward: There is a lot spoken on the growth of mobile but not much actual data shared. SEOmoz recently posted trends for mobile in 2011 and I thought I… Continue reading

USM Stands For…? Ultra Scuba Monitoring?

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet Uber Social Media? Unisex Mandivore? Unlikely Someone Minds? Apparently, my USM was broken and I didn’t even know. Sounds dirty, right? You take that USM, grease it up and put it in the FRJ! No, I’m afraid USM is nothing that hot and bothered. It just stands for Universal Subscription Mechanism and has to… Continue reading

Has Google Spat On Its 10 Things Philosophy?

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet http://www.google.com/corporate/tenthings.html 1. “It’s best to do one thing really, really well. We do search.” Yet look at Buzz, Wave, JotSpot, Chrome, Blogspot, Feedburner, Picasa, Talk, Jaiku, SketchUp, Gears, Android, Page Creator, Friend Connect etc… (see more at Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Google_products ) Granted, Android has been remarkably successful … but look at all the other things… Continue reading

A Solution For Tag-And-Tracking-Code-Free Web Analytics?

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet I was recently playing around with Brighter Option’s Social Ads Manager (SAM) – a Facebook ad creation and management software – which includes its own conversion tracking. SAM has a click redirector option for tracking, and while it requires you to tag your pages, it just occurred to me that there’s perhaps an alternative… Continue reading

When To Take On A Client? Was Adam Audette Right Or Wrong?

Gabriel Goldenberg
Author: Gabriel Goldenberg

Tweet In Adam Audette‘s recent link building column (via Wiep’s link roundup), he claims to have failed at link building (or more accurately, client relations). The client – a major corporation with 10 big websites – wanted results in a short time frame, so instead of going for high quality links that take time to… Continue reading